AFFFF21: THE BIG HIT (Un triomphe) 100 mins

3983 AFFFF21: THE BIG HIT

Screening Fri 12 Mar - Wed 7 Apr at:

Luna Leederville session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Sunday, 14 March
8:20PM 
Saturday, 20 March
8:50PM 
Wednesday, 31 March
6:45PM 
Saturday, 3 April
4:00PM 

Luna On SX session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Friday, 12 March
6:30PM 
Wednesday, 17 March
6:30PM 
Saturday, 20 March
1:30PM 
Tuesday, 23 March
4:00PM 
Saturday, 3 April
8:45PM 
Wednesday, 7 April
4:00PM 

Windsor Cinema session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Monday, 15 March
11:00AM 
Saturday, 20 March
4:00PM 
Wednesday, 24 March
6:30PM 
Friday, 26 March
1:30PM 
Tuesday, 6 April
1:30PM 

Inspired by remarkable true events, multi award-winning writer Emmanuel Courcol’s rousing, Cannes-selected directorial debut follows a dedicated out-of-work actor (indelibly played by the fabulous Kad Merad, Orchestra Class, AF FFF18) whose life takes an unexpected career turn.

Disillusioned and divorced middle-aged thespian Étienne (Merad) accepts an arts rehabilitation role, leading a theatre workshop group at a correctional facility, under the watchful eye of open-minded but cautious warden Ariane (Marina Hands, Chic!, AF FFF16). His program attracts a motley group, and Étienne, surprised by the raw talent he unearths, comes up with the idea of workshopping Beckett’s Waiting for Godot. To the surprise of many, the play’s existential themes prove to be a natural fit for the inmates, and the connection between the cast and their kind-hearted director grows stronger with every rehearsal… though not without exception, and some very unexpected ramifications.

Inscribed with intelligence and humour, The Big Hit was named Best Comedy of 2020 at this year’s European Film Awards. It’s a deeply empathetic celebration of camaraderie, faith in others (and oneself), and the liberating power of art.