BFF21: Ali and Ava 95 mins

4555 BFF21: Ali and Ava

Screening Thu 4 Nov - Wed 1 Dec at:

Luna Leederville session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Thursday, 4 November
6:30PM 
Thursday, 11 November
8:40PM 
Wednesday, 17 November
1:30PM 
Friday, 19 November
11:15AM 
Tuesday, 23 November
11:00AM 
Thursday, 25 November
6:30PM 
Monday, 29 November
3:45PM 

Luna On SX session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Friday, 5 November
3:30PM 
Monday, 8 November
4:00PM 
Wednesday, 10 November
11:00AM 
Tuesday, 16 November
9:00PM 
Thursday, 18 November
11:15AM 
Monday, 22 November
6:15PM 
Wednesday, 1 December
3:30PM 

Windsor Cinema session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Thursday, 4 November
1:00PM 
Monday, 8 November
1:45PM 
Monday, 15 November
11:00AM 
Saturday, 20 November
8:45PM 
Wednesday, 24 November
6:30PM 

The latest film from BAFTA-nominated director Clio Barnard (The Arbor, The Selfish Giant), Ali & Ava is a tumultuous, fiercely affecting working-class love story set in Bradford, West Yorkshire.

An exuberant music enthusiast and landlord Ali (Adeel Akhtar, also in The Electrical Life of Louis Wain) is a British Pakistani working-class landlord who forges close bonds with his tenants. Ava (Claire Rushbrook) is an Irish-born teacher and single mother of five, whose latest grandchild has just been born.

When a chance encounter unites them, Ali and Ava begin a tentative friendship formed around their shared love of music. Despite their different backgrounds and stages of life, and regardless of Ali’s failing marriage and Ava’s fraught relationship with her adult and adolescent children, each finds themself irresistibly drawn to the other and their friendship quickly blossoms into an unexpected romance.

Enveloped in music and imbued with humour, Clio Barnard deftly weaves together conventions of social realism and romantic drama to present an intelligent and nuanced depiction of 21st century Britain that feels profoundly rooted in lived experience.

“The performances make this worthwhile.” Hollywood Reporter

OFFICIAL SELECTION – BFI London Film Festival 2021
OFFICIAL SELECTION – Toronto International Film Festival 2021
OFFICIAL SELECTION - Cannes Film Festival 2021, Directors Fortnight

“Beyond Barnard's deft touch with issues of class and race appear her underlying sensitivities at portraying the halting, tentative steps toward romance between two people of a certain age.”
In Review Online
“A quiet study of its characters, Ali & Ava is a fresh take on otherwise well-worn rom-com narratives.”
Globe and Mail