BFF21: Benediction 137 mins

4558 BFF21: Benediction

Screening Fri 5 Nov - Wed 1 Dec at:

Luna Leederville session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Monday, 8 November
8:40PM 
Wednesday, 10 November
10:40AM 
Friday, 12 November
1:30PM 
Monday, 15 November
3:40PM 
Thursday, 18 November
8:40PM 
Saturday, 20 November
3:30PM 
Monday, 22 November
6:30PM 
Tuesday, 30 November
1:15PM 

Luna On SX session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Friday, 5 November
6:10PM 
Tuesday, 9 November
11:00AM 
Wednesday, 10 November
6:15PM 
Tuesday, 16 November
6:15PM 
Wednesday, 24 November
10:40AM 
Thursday, 25 November
10:45AM 
Friday, 26 November
8:10PM 
Saturday, 27 November
1:15PM 
Monday, 29 November
6:10PM 

Windsor Cinema session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Saturday, 6 November
11:00AM 
Monday, 8 November
11:00AM 
Friday, 19 November
8:45PM 
Tuesday, 23 November
6:10PM 
Wednesday, 24 November
1:15PM 
Wednesday, 1 December
1:15PM 

A sumptuous and tender portrait from revered filmmaker Terence Davies (A Quiet Passion), Benediction explores the turbulent life of 20th-century English poet and soldier Siegfried Sassoon.

Starring Jack Lowden (Dunkirk) and Peter Capaldi (Doctor Who) as the younger and older Sassoon respectively, Sassoon’s experience of the First World War on the Western Front is crafted in layers of heroism, loss, and unfathomable trauma, which inspired his poetry depicting its horrors. His attempt at conscientious objection to the war leads to his being committed to a Scottish hospital, where he meets and mentors fellow poet and soldier Wilfred Owen.

Davies’ first film about an openly gay man employs a collage-style narrative that intercuts dramatic scenes of key moments in Sassoon’s life – his relationships with Ivor Novello and the aristocrat Stephen Tennant, as well as his later marriage to a woman – with beautiful readings of his poetry over montages of real images of soldiers in wartime.

A moving tribute to a troubled man, searching for peace and self-acceptance, Benediction is an elegant work that reflects on British queer histories.

Australian Premiere
NOMINEE - San Sebastián International Film Festival 2021, Best Film
OFFICIAL SELECTION – Toronto International Film Festival 2021
OFFICIAL SELECTION – BFI London Film Festival 2021

“A wounded portrait of poetry and self-loathing.”
Indie Wire
“A thoughtful study.”
The Hollywood Reporter