GFF22: The Last Execution (NAHSCHUSS) 116 mins

4901 GFF22: The Last Execution

Screening Thu 2 Jun - Wed 22 Jun at:

Luna Leederville session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Friday, 3 June
8:30PM 
Monday, 6 June
6:30PM 
Friday, 10 June
6:20PM 
Saturday, 18 June
6:00PM 
Sunday, 19 June
4:40PM 

Luna On SX session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Saturday, 4 June
6:30PM 
Wednesday, 8 June
5:45PM 
Saturday, 11 June
2:00PM 
Monday, 13 June
6:15PM 
Wednesday, 15 June
6:15PM 
Thursday, 16 June
6:15PM 
Saturday, 18 June
11:20AM 
Monday, 20 June
8:40PM 

Australian premiere | Drama, Thriller | Germany
East Berlin, 1981. Tempted by the offer of a prestigious professorship, ambitious scientist Franz Walter (Lars Eidinger, 25km/h GFF19, Babylon Berlin) is recruited by the GDR's foreign intelligence service and sent on foreign assignments to West Germany with his colleague Dirk (Devid Striesow).

At first, Franz's missions only seem to serve East Germany's information needs, but these soon become bigger and more monstrous. Blackmail, coercion, surveillance, wiretapping all become part of his daily routine. But Franz can no longer reconcile his actions with his conscience and he decides to get out, but the secret service will not let him go.

A gripping historical drama inspired by the life and death of Werner Teske, the last prisoner executed in the former GDR, director-screenwriter Franziska Stünkel delivers a haunting and intense film about moral dilemmas. Shot largely at original locations in Berlin, The Last Execution paints an authentic picture of the harsh realities in the GDR system and their destructive impact on the individual.

"A dark chapter of German history, oppressively and highly excitingly staged as a mixture of political drama and psychological thriller." Filmstarts

WINNER - Young German Cinema Award for Best Screenplay, Munich Film Festival 2021
NOMINEE - New Directors Competition, Chicago International Film Festival 2021
OFFICIAL SELECTION - Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival 2021

German with English subtitles