SCA22: Margrete - Queen of the North (Margrete den første) 120 mins

5020 SCA22: Margrete - Queen of the North

Screening Wed 20 Jul - Sun 7 Aug at:

Luna Leederville session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Wednesday, 20 July
7:00PM 
Friday, 22 July
6:30PM 
Monday, 25 July
7:40PM 
Sunday, 31 July
12:00PM 
Tuesday, 2 August
6:00PM 
Friday, 5 August
4:30PM 
Sunday, 7 August
6:40PM 

Luna On SX session times.   BOOK TICKETS

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Thursday, 21 July
8:20PM 
Saturday, 23 July
4:30PM 
Sunday, 24 July
3:30PM 
Saturday, 30 July
2:20PM 
Monday, 1 August
6:10PM 
Saturday, 6 August
4:00PM 

Australian premiere | Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Iceland, Czech Republic, Poland | Historical Drama
From acclaimed director Charlotte Sieling (Borgen, The Killing, The Bridge), Margrete - Queen of the North brings the story of one of the most powerful women in Nordic history to the big screen.

In the year 1402, Denmark’s Queen Margrete (Trine Dyrholm) has achieved what no man has managed before. She has gathered Denmark, Norway and Sweden into a peace-oriented union, which she single-handedly rules through her young, adopted son, Erik (Morten Hee Andersen).

However, the union is beset by enemies and therefore Margrete is planning a marriage between Erik and an English princess. An alliance with England should secure the union’s status as an emerging European power, but a breathtaking conspiracy is under way that could tear Margrete and all that she believes in apart.

Directed and co-written by Sieling and inspired by actual events surrounding the reign of Queen Margrete I, Margrete - Queen of the North is a lavish historical drama that blends grand visuals with the psychological unease of a chamber piece, exploring the legacy of a visionary ruler who brokered the historic Kalmar Union.

WINNER – Best Supporting Actor, Best Costume Design, Best Production Design, Danish Film Awards 2022
WINNER – Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Bodil Awards 2022

"This piercing character study carries a contemporary poignancy, as it encapsulates the difficult choices a female leader has to make in a world bounded by patriarchal control.” The Guardian

Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, German and French with English subtitles